Just a screenshot to keep things looking like somethings happening

pihlaja003b_24_08_2007

It seems I haven’t posted a screenshot in a long time. So, here goes. This one shows the “fullscreen” mode that I added this week. Nothing much there, but it’s nice to have some more room for the video monitor. Hmm. I think I need some audio monitors there too. There’s also some little polishing on the widget’s layout to get some more space for the monitor. The timecode display was moved to the bottom statusbar. Hmm. I wonder if that’s a good idea. It saves space. I’ll keep it there for a while, and see how it feels. Also the “media buttons” – play, pause, rewind etc. – moved to the center toolbar. Now you can pretty much get almost a fullscreen viewing experience when you move the panes to their maximums. Maybe I’ll put that to the next video demonstration. That’ll be out somewhere in 6 months during the next release… 🙂

Lots of functionality still missing. I should rewrite SceneChain and Track. Unify them into a class called Sequence!(T). Well, I’ll see if that’s possible.

Ok. Lots of things happened. But not that much to Pihlaja. Updated to Feisty Fawn finally. Updated to new version of Tango. Less crashes, I hope. Crashes immediately if I use console output, so that issue has reversed itself! Can’t use the newest version of gtkD. Gradually learning to use git and changing Pihlaja to use that too. Should really end Pihlaja development and start doing my “final work”. 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: gtkD, screenshot, status, tango, user-interface

2 Comments on “Just a screenshot to keep things looking like somethings happening”

  1. Aaron Says:

    Hey! Just posting to give you some encouragement. I’m following this programs development and am excited about it. In fact, it is very similar to an editing program design I came up with but I can’t really code so I’m excited with what you’re doing. I tried out the Ubuntu binary and I’m looking forward to the next release.

    Aaron Hilton.

  2. pihlaja Says:

    Thank you very much for your encouragement. It’s really nice to hear that some people are as excited about this as I am. It’s also nice to hear that you’ve tried it. I hope you did atleast get some video playing… 🙂
    I’m really hoping for the next release to be actually usable for some simple editing. But it might take a while, as I can’t work on it fulltime like I have for the last 6 months. I’ll still work on it as much as I possibly can, so I’m not stopping until it’s working.

    One note for everybody is that Pihlaja currently doesn’t work under a composited environment for some reason. Atleast the monitor picture (xoverlay) will get hidden as soon as you press play. I’ve tried to get it working but haven’t managed to do so… But it will get fixed at some point.


Leave a Reply

